Wednesday, February 2, 2011

Minutes of January 17, 2011

Haverhill Library Association
Minutes of the Annual Meeting, January 17, 2011

The Annual Meeting of the Haverhill Library Association was held at the library and called to order by Board of Trustees Chairman John Landrigan at 7:00 P.M. on January 17, 2011. Present were Trustees John Landrigan, Vesta Smith, Ken Frank and Mike Marshall and member of the public Linda Landrigan.

A review of activities of the past year was made. Ken Frank and Mike Marshall joined the Board of Trustees. Minutes of monthly board meetings were posted on the library’s website. The Board met with Alumni Hall Director Keisha Luce to discuss the relationship of our two organizations. A regular column containing library news is being published in the Haverhill Corner Congregational Church’s monthly newsletter. The library has obtained a new e-mail address. The library’s financial status weathered a difficult start, but the year ended without a draw-down of our investments and the Board voted raises for the librarians. During the year, Ken Frank fixed the trap door and conducted a facilities inspection. The inspection revealed the slate roof and gable ends brickwork need attention; Ken Frank obtained estimates for the needed work. Community member Mike Welch refinished the floor of the downstairs hallway. Community service projects undertaken include establishment of a toner cartridge recycling collection box, establishment of ‘listserv’ - an online community discussion site and art & photography exhibits at the library. For the kids, there was a weekly story time, a summer reading program, a tour of the Conklin Farm, a bike parade and Halloween party. For adults there were two book discussion series, the continuation of a creative writing group started in 2009, a creative writing workshop and we hosted the first meeting in Haverhill of the New Hampshire Writers Project Book Club for Writers. Library fundraisers were a Chicken Supper / Book Sale / Raffle event in March, a book sale at the community Strawberry Festival in June, a Mystery Tea in August and a very successful pig roast / pulled pork lunch and book sale at the Autumn Festival. The Board noted the valuable contributions of volunteers throughout the year: Carolyn Danielson, Mike Welch, Dennis Mason, Lori Heels and Hugh Underhill.

In his role as Treasurer, John Landrigan submitted a 2010 Treasurer’s Report with the caveat that he is still waiting for the amount of checking account interest to complete the report.

A slate of officers for 2011 was proposed and approved: President – John Landrigan, Vice-President – Kathy Schiffman, Treasurer – John Landrigan and Secretary – Mike Marshall.

Looking forward to the upcoming year, the Board resolved to continue the activities and fundraisers of the past. The Board expressed its appreciation for all of the contributions of recently resigned members Kerri Harrington and Barbara May. Although Kerri and Barb will be hard to replace, new members will be sought with the intent of increasing community participation in our operations. John also will move forward with a plan to establish a de facto “Friends of the Library Group”.

The meeting was adjourned at 7:55 P.M.

The next monthly meeting will be on Monday, February 7, 2011.

Respectfully submitted,
Michael Marshall