Monday, February 1, 2010

Minutes of January 18, 2010

Haverhill Library Association
Minutes from Annual Meeting of January 18, 2010

The annual meeting of the Haverhill Library Board was called to order by chairman John Landrigan at 6:30 PM on January 18, 2009. Present were trustees John Landrigan, Kerri Harrington, Kathy Schiffman, Barbara May and librarian Anne Ballam. Also at this meeting was a representative of the public, Linda Lee Landrigan.

First order of business was that John proposed that the trustees should write up the annual report instead of the librarians.

We discussed 2009 and how it was a particularly difficult year for the Haverhill Library. We dealt with a recession and a lawsuit ,as well as other smaller obstacles.

Some of the accomplishments of the year were a profitable book sale, an author’s luncheon, writing workshops, a Facebook page, a wireless system for computer, a successful children’s program and a new board member. We also established a Fundraising Committee in 2009.

We discussed putting up a poster announcing our Amazon wish list. Linda Lee Landrigan agreed to make the poster for the library.

Election of officers followed. John Landrigan was reinstated as President of the Board. Kathy Schiffman was elected as Vice President. Kerri Harrington retains her position as Secretary.

Once again we talked about board development and how we could use two more members to join.

The meeting was adjourned at 7:00 PM
Next meeting will be on February 1, 2010 at 7:30 PM

Submitted by,